Ants in your pants

One day a friend and I were talking about a recent TM meeting. Some people arrived late some people fidgeted and for me, who has trouble meditating at the best of times due to thoughts, I found this quite distracting.

I told my friend about this and she came right out and said it. No holding back. She said it like it was incredible that I was even capable of this. She said she was amazed that I could sit still for 20 minutes.

This was funny to me because this was the ‘easiest’ part of the daily TM process. I can sit still for 20 minutes very easily. No scratching or itches. No moving. It is ‘easy’.

Initially at these meetings I found this quite annoying. Mainly because of the subtle noises that come from moving which distracted me from the process of meditating. I wouldn’t say I got angry but just annoyed. But with age, or is it the meditation, comes patience. Maybe there is a reason they are fidgeting. Sore back? Hard day at work? Maybe it is their nature to move around?

Another part of the weekly meeting that causes distraction is the people who arrive late. Doors opening and closing. Chairs moving. Footsteps. Again, patience is needed here. I don’t know their stories. Maybe the traffic was bad? Maybe the kids were playing up? Maybe the pizza delivery guy was late. There could be many reasons why.

Really, I should just be thankful that they made the effort to attend the meeting. People are busy and their time is precious. They are away from their families. It is easy to not do something, so getting to the meeting at all can be quite the feat for some people.

Is it meditation that is teaching me patience? I don’t know but with patience comes calmness and these are good qualities which at times I lack. But I do know that after meditation I feel much more tolerant, patient and calm.

Leave a Reply

